Coleslaw


Homemade coleslaw is one of the simplest dishes to make.  I am a big fan of coleslaw – but I’m not a big fan of the calories that typically come with coleslaw that you can get while out and about.  I learned this recipe from my mother, who I admit, makes one of the best homemade coleslaw’s known to man. I just adapted a few ingredients to make it Weight Watchers friendly without having to sacrifice taste.  I found I created one of the easiest and quickest sides to make to go alongside any BBQ dish or any grilling out.
Serves 5. 2 Points plus per serving. Roughly ~1/2 cup serving
Note: Recipe can be cut into 10 servings to make it 1 point plus each serving.
Ingredients:
  • 1 bag of Dole coleslaw mix
  • ½ cup Hellmann’s reduced fat mayonnaise
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 tablespoons white vinegar
  • Black pepper, to taste
Combine the mayonnaise, sugar and white vinegar in a large bowl, stirring until combined and into a “sauce” mixture.  Add in the coleslaw mixture, stirring to combine and coat all cabbage.
Give the mixture a taste and adjust seasonings – add in black pepper at this point (if wanted) and if you want to cut the sweetness add another 1-2 tablespoons of vinegar.  I typically end up adding more vinegar because I like tangy coleslaw.

Leave a comment